Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > comparadun question

AltoidmattJanuary 25th, 2010, 6:05 pm
Altoona, PA

I know very little about comparaduns and I wandered how many other fishermen fish them? How do you fish them? during the hatch? what stage do they immitate? Have I been missing a key ingredient to "matching" the hatch or catching selective trout? I'd appreciate some information before I start tying dozens of them. Thanks
TaxonJanuary 25th, 2010, 6:24 pm
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Matthew-

I have been tying and using the Comparadun pattern for at least 20 years to imitate Callibaetis mayfly emergers, duns, and spinners. Not only are they extremely effective, and reasonably durable, but they are inexpensive to tie, or at least, were before the price of hooks went through the ceiling.
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
MartinlfJanuary 25th, 2010, 7:13 pm
Palmyra PA

I'll agree with Roger. They can imitate emergers (especially sparkle duns with the antron or zelon shuck), duns, and spinners. Following Gonzo's advice I've started tying some with zelon wings and still also use the old standard deer hair too. It's a very good fly.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
DryflyJanuary 25th, 2010, 7:39 pm
rochester mn

Comparaduns are great. All you need to do is change up the size and dubbing color and you have covered nearly every mayfly. I tie my wings in differently, with the hair tips going backward toward the bend. Then you take a third of the hair stand it up and take a wrap or two between the separate bunches, take the other third and repeat. I like this method better because the wing will cant backward like a real mayfly wing.
MartinlfJanuary 25th, 2010, 8:34 pm
Palmyra PA