Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Plan could eliminate Harriman State Park

WiflyfisherJanuary 14th, 2010, 6:02 am
Wisconsin

FYI, I truly hope this doesn't happen! This is one of the most awesome dry fly trout waters and people come from all over the World to fish it!

http://www.islandparknews.com/atf.php?sid=7670¤t_edition=2010-01-07
John S.
https://WiFlyFisher.com
OldredbarnJanuary 14th, 2010, 7:09 am
Novi, MI

John,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I have no knowledge of the contract that set up the park, but maybe something along the lines of what was done a few years back at the $3 Dollar Bridge on the Madison could be worked out. Anything would be preferable to the prospect of development in such a jewel of our sport.

I was there in 2004 just before Labor Day. The river was fishing poorly that year due to the water issues always going on there between the ranchers and just about everyone else. I was actually forewarned when I was purchasing a fishing license there and they directed me to some other areas that may fish better if things didn't work out at the Ranch...

I spent two days there and on the second day I witnessed one of the largest hatches I have ever seen. It was over cast and the wind was not blowing very hard for a change and the river looked more like a still lake early in the morning. It was like a mirror all across from bank to bank...There were several different bugs coming off and it looked like mother nature had sprinkled pepper all across the still surface...It was like the stars in the sky, the numbers were mind boggling! Hardly a fish fed!