Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > vintage split bamboo

NeophyteApril 20th, 2009, 10:00 am
Royal Palm Beach, FL

Greetings,
A while back a friend gave me an old Columbia (Utica New York) 5 wt. 9 ft 3-piece (4 counting a second tip section)split bamboo rod. It is in reasonable shape. A prior owner may have tried to refinish it himself since it has a few varnish blobs (for lack of a better term). Is it worth anything? I've heard this rod was on the lower end of the Columbia product line. In a previous post I mentioned that I am new at fly-fishing. My local Gander Mtn. suggested I put it over my mantle at home. Once I get proficient at casting, I would like to give this thing a try. Any comments?
Thanks,
RayM
CaseyPApril 21st, 2009, 12:50 pm
Arlington, VA/ Mercersburg, PA

Once I get proficient at casting, I would like to give this thing a try. Any comments?

yep: take that bamboo with you now when you practice casting with whatever else you're using for a rod. after you're warmed up and getting the line further than the end of the rod, try the bamboo. it will probably feel funny, but it might just suit you. if it doesn't seem to, put it away for a couple of outings and then try again. if you can make it work in the end, use it! it would be a shame for this rod to live in a closet for the rest of your life. after a couple of times on the stream, if it doesn't catch fish, then you can put it away or give it away knowing you did your best. (btw, did your friend give you the use and care lecture?)

as for provenance and worth, try Coldwater Collectibles.

PS, just saw your address--that size bamboo's not for salt water.

"You can observe a lot by watching." Yogi Berra
NeophyteApril 21st, 2009, 1:52 pm
Royal Palm Beach, FL

Casey,