Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Fly Rod help!

ProslackassJuly 18th, 2008, 7:46 am
Colorado

I would like to hear/ read everyone’s opinion on fly rods.

I am looking to pick up second rod and I am looking for a 7’6” 3wt (for hiking Colorado streams/ creeks). Since it will be a second rod, I did not want to spend too much. I have been fishing for 7 years and enjoy fast action rods (they seem to fit my casting style).

The Cabelas (Three Forks) has a 7 ½’ 3wt in a three piece for $49 and rod and reel combos for less then $100 (perfect!!), but I am under the assumption “you get what you pay for” and $49 for a rod seems way cheap. Although, since it will be, a second rod that price is very appealing. Are the Cabelas rod’s good quality? Has anyone used this rod? Do you have any other recommendations?

Thank you in advance.
Ryan

FreepowJuly 18th, 2008, 8:41 am
menomonie, WI

I too was looking for a modestly priced 3 wt. and am exceptionally happy with my Temple Fork Lefty Kreh Signature Series. It is a solid rod with great moderate action. I have been fishing it all season now and feel that I may never need another 3 wt. It runs about $100. Before this I had a Gander Mnt. Guide Series (which I am assuming is similar to the Cabelas setup) and thought that it was just fine...until it broke and Gander discontinued the model so I was out a bunch of money; then I tried the TF rod. Like you said, you get what you pay for...except for with the Temple Fork...it is worth way more than a hundred bucks. Also, it comes with a lifetime warranty. By buddy throws a 5 wt. and I can't get him to shut up with how happy he is too. Hope that helps...that's my suggestion...
"I fish...because I suspect that men are going along this way for the last time, and I for one don't want to waste the trip..."
Jjlyon01July 18th, 2008, 5:30 pm
SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse