Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > lake fishing

DucfatApril 24th, 2008, 10:10 am
Posts: 10Looking for sinking line recommendations to fish the small alpine lakes and reservoirs in southern Utah and Nevada. Fishing from shore and canoe with 5 wt rod. Considering Orvis Wonderline Class II with Sink Rate: 1¾" to 2¾"/second. Also looking at an intermediate line, but would I get the same result with my floating line and a longer flourocarbon leader & tippet with some split shot?
Thanks,
Tim
SayfuSeptember 18th, 2012, 9:36 am
I have limited experience on those higher up lakes, but have had lots of conversation with other anglers. Most of those lakes are very clear water, and receptive fish to the fly. The need to go deep doesn't seem to be necessary. Most use intermediate sink lines that are more manageable then the heavier sinkers.
EntomanSeptember 18th, 2012, 4:51 pm
Northern CA & ID

Hi Ducfat -

Are you hiking in or driving? If the latter, you have all kinds of options. I use three lines, a full deep sinker, a slow sinking clear line and a floater, all weight forwards. To ovoid multiplicity, I probably won't buy another full sinker when my current batch wears out (they last a lot longer than the floaters) and just use teeny type of long sinking head that I use for moving water. The head takes the floating running line down and the line assumes a very similar profile to the full sinker when a long cast has been allowed to fully settle deep. The subtle difference is not enough to justify the additional expence, IMO. For the clear line, I prefer the old SA clears if you can find them as they approach the sink rate of the intermediates the best. The popular Cortland camo clear sinks a little too fast, but is still a good line.