Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > A Fisherman near Wolfeboro, NH needs help...

ScareCrowApril 9th, 2008, 4:30 pm
Wolfeboro, NH

Hello All;

So I am kind of new to this fly fishing thing. Started in late June of 2007 in the Catskill Mountains of NY (esopus creek mainly) and have recently moved to Wolfeboro, NH. Anyone know of any good streams near this area? Also, I have never fly fished in April, what should my aresenal consist of? I only have adult Mayflies, blue winged olives, some caddisflys, and some imitation ants. Do the types of flies change from area to area, or am I going to see the same insects I have seen in NY? Sorry to bombard all of you with questions, but I just need some help to get me started on a good season. Thanks!

-Evan

-=Scarecrow=-
GONZOApril 9th, 2008, 5:36 pm
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

Evan,

The early stoneflies (the little black and brown ones), the early season mayflies (sometimes collectively known as the "April grays"--little blue-winged olives, blue quills, quill Gordons, and Hendricksons), and early caddisflies (like the grannoms) are common to much of the East and follow in roughly that order as April proceeds into May. Those hatches can start later in NH than in the Catskills, but that also depends on altitude and other factors.

I hope that helps, but don't neglect some basic all-round "go-to" patterns for times when hatches don't much matter. And welcome to the site and the sport!
WbranchApril 9th, 2008, 8:16 pm
York & Starlight PA

Many of the rivers and streams in New Hampshire that are north of Conway have very few aquatic insects and are for the most part quite sterile. That being said that is one of the reasons that most of those pretty mountain streams have so little wild trout and almost all the fish have to be planted.