Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > What hobbies apart from fishing do you have?

PriestmakerMarch 4th, 2008, 2:00 pm
Newcastle On Tyne

Apart from Fishing?
Me, Im a carpenter. Nothing bores me more than doing nothing.
When i Get home, i do whatever need sto be done. Then occupy myself. Im TRYING to learn Accoustic guitar, I make priests, Sticks, (Thumbsticks, market sticks) tie flies,. do anything rather than sit and do nothing. It drives me up the f****ng wall.
Im a Season ticket holder at Newcastle United Football club (soccer to you lot), and a member of a gentlemens association shall we say. I have to have my mind occupied.
And i hoard things. I think I got that from my Granda, I have a garage full of sh*t. Wheel ramps, ( I know sod all about cars) a brand new window frame, (had it for 13 years) A mitre radial saw that doesnt cut!! an old school paper guillotine (blade only, no base!) and 80 eternit slates, (why??)I hate throwing things away. My Granda had all sorts in his "Washouse" (Cellar) even so far as a sawfishes snout, teeth ncluded. where in the name of god he got that I will never know, but he had it,he never ever threw anything away, he had a mandolin, in a case that he couldnt play, a .303 live bullet in a drawer, (he never had a rifle) !, a piece of wood that was allegedly from HMS VICTORY. A silver tipped swagger stick from a Regimental Seargeant major that had lodged at his house during the war, and masinic working tools that a different soldier took from a geman prisoner at the hospital, spent cases from a Spitfire, that had rattled off his roof in a dogfight during the war, as German planes tried to find Consett Iron works. I was 17 before Iknew you could buy new nails, I thought you just straightened old ones out with a hammer on a piece of wood, which Is what my granda had me doing for years.